Nestled in the heart of a quiet neighborhood in downtown Milan, Villa Necchi Campiglio was designed in the early 1930s by architect Piero Portaluppi on behalf of the Necchi sisters, Nedda and Gigina, and Angelo Campiglio, Gigina’s husband, who were part of a cultured and progressive Lombard industrial bourgeoisie.
In addition to the villa, the garden contained the caretaker’s house with the gatehouse, the greenhouse, the garage, the tennis court, and the swimming pool (the first privately-owned pool in Milan).
The raised ground floor served as the reception area, while the first floor was reserved for the family’s private rooms.
The spaces were designed for busy homeowners who were still able to enjoy their leisure time with guests and friends, where innovation translated into comfort and the efficiency of elevators, dumbwaiters, intercoms, sliding armored doors, and walled vaults. All of these features, for their luxury and modernity, made the Villa one of the symbolic residences of the era.
Today, three important donations enrich the visit: Claudia Gian Ferrari’s collection of early 20th century artworks, Alighiero and Emilietta de’ Micheli’s collection of 18th century paintings and decorative arts, and since 2017, the Guido Sforni (1935-1975) collection composed of 21 drawings on paper from 20th century artists.
The Villa is open to everyone today, in accordance with the wish of the Necchi sisters who entrusted the residence to the FAI in 2001 precisely to create a place to live and visit, thanks also to the cool garden, numerous events on the calendar, and an elegant bistrot hidden in the greenery.